Behind The Blog featuring Dawn from March To The Aisle…

March To The Aisle

Hey Beauty Buddies

It’s Tuesday which can only mean one thing on Confetti & Curves… our first fun-filled Behind The Blogger of the week joins us on the virtual sofa! *woo hoo* Today I’m deeelighted to introduce the lovely Dawn from March To The Aisle. As I’m sure you can tell, Dawn’s blog follows her journey as a bride-to-be in the throws of wedding planing alongside her fiance Lee (the rather handsome chap pictured below!) Of course being a seemingly cool & collected bride, Dawn is taking to wedding planning like a duck to water and as a result her blog is sprinkled with some valuable hints & tips that will undoubtedly come into great use for others in the same bridal boat.

However fear not for those readers who aren’t currently up to their eye’s in bridal fairs and dress fittings, as Dawn wonderfully intertwines a sprinkling of beauty & life-style features to keep readers of all marital statuses entertained along the way.

You know the drill by now ladies, flick the kettle switch & nestle into your comfiest chair as we take a quick peek Behind The Blog

Dawn

In only 5 words describe what readers can expect from your blog:

Weddings, wanderings and wonderful things

.

What inspired you to start blogging?

I’m a designer but have always been interested in writing. I wrote a few blog posts a couple of years ago when I ran my first marathon and then just stopped (for no real reason) once the race was over. Once I was engaged last September I found my self reading lots of online resources for brides to be. My one issue with some of them is that they’re not that ‘real’ and so my idea for a blog where I would share my real life journey was born. Finally in June I published my first post and I’m enjoying writing about my journey so far. March To The Aisle isn’t just about the big day, it’s all the little things that happen in the lead up, so I’ll be reviewing products that help me in my everyday life and trips I take with my fiancé for example.

.

Tell us about your blog name… what made you decide on it?

March To The Aisle is a bit of a play on words. I’m heading to the aisle myself in March next year and The Wedding March is traditionally played at a wedding ceremony. So it’s my journey to the aisle next year, and I’ll be doing it in March. It made sense to me when I thought of it…

.

Do you ever suffer from Blogger’s Block & if so how do you overcome it?

I’ve only been actively blogging for just a few months and so at the moment ideas seem to be flowing thick and fast. I tend to do a lot of my writing on the train (as I have an hour commute to work) and I carry my iPad with me most of the time to note down any ideas I have. I’m trying to make a note whenever I think of an idea for a potential post so that I can expand on it later and I’m hoping that if I ever get Blogger’s Block I’ll have a little pool of ideas to turn to. Failing that I always find that a little browse on Pinterest helps to fuel my creative ideas.

.

What’s your favourite post to date? 

For me this is a tough one. It’s a toss up between Honeymoon planning: It’s all booked https://marchtotheaisle.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/honeymoon-planning-its-all-booked/ and Saving our date https://marchtotheaisle.wordpress.com/2015/06/13/saving-our-date/

I loved writing about our honeymoon plans as it makes me feel excited about the amazing trip we’re going to take and I got to reminisce about holidays Lee and I have taken. But the save the dates were a chance for me to share some of my designs with my readers and it was cathartic to list out why I’d been delaying sending them for so long. I’ll let you pick a favourite!

.

Describe your everyday clothes style:

At the moment I wear a lot of pencil skirts, camisole tops and leather flip flops. Once the weather cools down I’ll be back in skinny jeans, chunky jumpers and ankle boots!

.

What are your current top 3 beauty items?

Coconut oil – it’s so versatile

Benefit Gimme Brow – makes my brows look full and groomed

Perfectil – I’m not sure if it’s helping my hair but it’s definitely improved the dark circles under my eyes

.

How do you like to relax & unwind after a stressful day?

I like to cook a nice dinner and enjoy it with my fiancé Lee, then sit on the sofa with our cats Freddy and Missy and watch a good film.

.

Describe your ideal Saturday night:

A nice meal and cocktails with Lee and our friends.

.

What do you do to relax?

I enjoy running and find that a good run will help to clear my head if I’m stressed. Otherwise I absolutely love a facial, it’s one of my favourite treats!

 .

Everyone has their bad habits, what’s yours?

I can find it quite hard to make decisions. It’s actually driving Lee a bit nuts with the wedding plans I think. For example I’ll suggest a style of cake I like and then 2 days later will find another one and then be unsure of which I prefer.

.

What’s your most cherished childhood memory?

Holidays with my mum, dad, brother and nan.

.

What was your favourite school subject?

Graphics, I loved drawing and designing and now I get to do both everyday.

.

What’s your dream job?

Formula One reporter – If I ever win the lottery I’m going to spend a year going to every race on the calendar!

.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Married, happy and doing something I love.

.

What top 5 things are on your bucket list?

Go on safari

Marry Lee

Start a family

Start my own business

Get an article published in a magazine

.

What’s your biggest achievement to date?

Running the London Marathon. It’s an achievement in its own right but it’s also how I met the love of my life.

.

Who inspires you?

As cheesy as it sounds mum is a total inspiration to me. She is the kindest, most selfless person I know. She works hard and it’s the centre of our family, I admire the way she lives her life and what she has achieved. If I grow up to be like my mum it would make me proud.

.

Do you have a favourite inspirational quote?

Never above you, never below you, always beside you – Walter Winchell

It’s something my friends and I say to each other if we’re going to have a shot when we’re out drinking. I have the most amazing group of girlfriends from school and I know we’re always there for each other no matter how our lives change. This quote just fits us so well.

.

What top tips would you give to someone who is thinking of starting their own blog?

Give it a go, what do you have to lose. There’s never going to be a right time to start blogging and you could put it off forever. I’d say write about something you have passion for as this will come across in your posts and things will develop from there.

.

QUICK FIRE QUESTIONS:

Tea or Coffee = Tea (in a teapot)

Coke or Pepsi = Coke

Messy mayhem or Super Organised = Super organised

Cute kitten or Playful puppy = Playful puppy (but only because I already have 2 cute cats)

Night In or Night Out = Night out

Heels or Flats = Heels

Lip Stick or Lip Gloss = Lip gloss

Rock Chick or Pop Princess = Pop princess

Paperback or E-book = Paperback

pink heart

Contact Dawn:

http://www.marchtotheaisle.wordpress.com

https://twitter.com/MarchToTheAisle

Don’t forget: If you would like your blog featured on Behind The Blog then get in touch via the contact page by clicking *here*, I’d love to hear from you!

Thanks so much for reading & of course do say hi in the comments below… we adore a good chatter here on Confetti & Curves  🙂

Karen signature

14 thoughts on “Behind The Blog featuring Dawn from March To The Aisle…

    • I enjoyed reading about you, and I subscribed to your blog! Like Closingwinter said above, I am not in an engagement stage of life quite yet, but I will admit I love reading about wedding planning and things like that. And your blog looks like a lot of fun to read! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    • So very welcome huni ❤ It's been such a pleasure featuring you!! Don't forget to give it a wee share so your own readers can take a peek 🙂 So lovely getting to know you much better – your blog is superb… hope all the planning is going as well as can be for your big day with Lee ❤ XXXXX

      Like

  1. Pingback: Behind The Blog – a guest post on Confetti and Curves | March to the aisle

  2. Pingback: Keeping Up With Karen… | Confetti and Curves

  3. Pingback: Happy New Year & Some Very Awesome Bloggers… | Confetti and Curves

Leave a comment