Behind The Blog… featuring Nazneen Zainal

Nazneen Zainal

Hello lovelies,

I hope you’re all well and having a super sassy week so far?! I must admit, January is usually one of those dull months that drag in for me, however this year I seem to be busier than ever and enjoying every single moment of it. Of course you guys are keeping me smiling every day with all your amazing comments and kind support for Confetti & Curves… I couldn’t imagine my cosy little writing world without my blog! Does anyone else feel like a protective cyber mama to their own blog baby? *lol* However through Confetti & Curves I never thought I’d meet so many great people from all over the world… talking of which, I’m chuffed to present you with yet another Behind The Blog post *woo hoo*

As always, if you’re new to Confetti & Curves *friendly wave* and not entirely sure what Behind The Blog is all about*click here* to bring yourself up to speed… you may even find yourself getting involved too!

So today I’m joined by the gorgeous Nazneen Zainal, if you haven’t already checked out her cute little corner of the inter-web then I’d encourage you to pop over & say hello! Nazneen describes her blog as her personal online space where fashion meets lifestyle – and true to her word, her posts are a delicious mixture of all her favourite things!

So without any further rambling from me here’s Nazneen’s very own Behind The Blog interview to help you get to know this gorgeous gal that little bit better…

Nazneen

What inspired you to start blogging?

I first started blogging in 2004 having blogger as my medium. My blog started as a daily diary to record my everyday moments and activities while first time studying abroad in Melbourne, Australia.

10 years passed, I moved to WordPress for a professional look in July 2014 to focus on what’s close to my heart; fashion, lifestyle, beauty, kitchen diaries and bits of Melbourne. I really enjoy blogging as I get to connect with other bloggers that may share the same interests; if not I always learn something new from them.

 

Tell us about your blog name… what made you decide on it?

‘NAZNEEN ZAINAL’ – is simply my name to reflect my blog, which is my personal online space where fashion meets lifestyle.

Do you ever suffer from Blogger’s Block & if so how do you overcome it?

Yes, but I won’t blog if I really don’t have anything to write, inspire and engage with the readers.

To overcome, I usually conduct some reading and research to give me inspirations before I blog.

What’s your favourite post to date?

http://nazneenzainal.com/2014/09/22/minimalist-wardrobe-part-1/

This post made me realised the importance of curated wardrobe, as the new luxury is a small wardrobe consisting pieces that are good, fashionable, classic and stylish. I wanted my readers to be aware that by curating a wardrobe, they will be able to live and thrive a pleasurable wardrobe.

Describe your everyday clothes style:

Comfortable, minimal and feminine.

What are your current top 3 beauty items?

  1. Mascara – my favourite is Dior overcurl
  2. Concealer – got to cover up dark circles under my eyes! My favourite is from MAC
  3. Lipstick or lip balm

How do you like to relax & unwind after a stressful day?

Hot shower followed by a warm cup of tea and reading a book. If I have the chance I would go for manicure, pedicure and a massage.

Describe your ideal Saturday night:

Lazing in my pyjamas watching chick flicks or romantic movies.

What do you do to relax?

Watch dvds/movies, nap or exercise.

Everyone has their bad habits, what’s yours?

Being OCD. I guess there is good and bad to it. I really can’t tolerate mess and it drives me up the wall. This is bad especially if I’m staying with other people because everyone has their own level of tidiness.

What’s your most cherished childhood memory?

As I was growing up my dad usually takes my family and I on a vacation overseas in December. December is usually the month I look forward to as a child.

I also cherish the unconditional love and time my parents gave me despite them working late, especially my dad. My parents always make time and that’s something I’ve always appreciated as I was growing up.

What was your favourite school subject?

High school: English and Chemistry

Undergraduate: Law

Postgraduate: all fashion subjects

What’s your dream job?

I’m currently working as a Visual Merchandiser so that’s a job but a dream job would be a fashion buyer or a Visual Merchandiser at Dior!

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Married with my current boyfriend and have 2 kids, living in my own house, travel more, have a great job perhaps my own business and continue to be happy.

What top 5 things are on your bucket list?

  1. Visit Paris and New York
  2. Visit Mecca and conduct Haj with my family
  3. To own a Range Rover
  4. To build shelter homes for the poor
  5. To ride hot air balloon or go bungee jumping

What’s your biggest achievement to date?

Graduating from Bachelor of Business (Accountancy) and Master in Fashion and Textiles.

Who inspires you?

My parents, grandparents, Victoria Beckham and Monsieur Christian Dior (the designer).

Do you have a favourite inspirational quote?

  1. “It’s your road, and yours alone. Others may walk it with you but no one can walk it for you” – Rumi
  2. Dream big, Sparkle more and Shine bright J

What top tips would you give to someone who is thinking of starting their own blog?

Just go for it. Blog what you love and enjoy, and keep blogging even though you feel no one is reading. Always try to be as original and think out of the box to keep engaging with your readers. Let your passion drive you.

QUICK FIRE QUESTIONS:

Tea or Coffee = Tea

 

Coke or Pepsi = Neither. I don’t like gassy drinks. I’d choose juices instead.

 

Messy mayhem or Super Organised = Super organized!

 

Cute kitten or Playful puppy = Kitten

 

Night In or Night Out = Night in

 

Heels or Flats = Depending on occasion. For everyday, I prefer flats.

 

Lip Stick or Lip Gloss = Lipstick

 

Rock Chick or Pop Princess = Pop Princess

 

Paperback or E-book = Paperback

pink heart

Contact Nazneen:

Blog: nazneenzainal.com

Facebook: facebook.com/nazneenzainal

Twitter: twitter.com/nazneenzainal

Instagram: instagram.com/nazneenzainal

Linkedin: linkedin.com/nazneenzainal

E-mail: nazneenzainal@hotmail.com

Don’t forget: If you would like your blog to feature in Behind The Blog then please either leave your details below or alternatively get in touch via *here*, I’d love to hear from you.

Thanks so much for reading and of course do say hi in the comments below… we always enjoy a good chatter here on Confetti & Curves

Karen signature

22 thoughts on “Behind The Blog… featuring Nazneen Zainal

  1. Pingback: Celebrating with Wedding Ideas… | Confetti and Curves

  2. Pingback: Happy New Year & Some Very Awesome Bloggers… | Confetti and Curves

Leave a comment