Meet The Tech Monday featuring Clare Kirk…

MEET THE TECH MONDAY

Well hello lovelies!

What a better way to kick start the new week than with our brand new series ‘Meet The Tech Monday‘… and just as the name suggests, each Monday we’ll be welcoming a Nail Technician onto our very own virtual sofa, answering all those questions so many of us would love to ask!

Every Nail Technician we feature is a current member of Nail Tech Chat & Support UK, who take pride in supporting professional industry practice by ensuring all members are either fully qualified or a student in accredited training. So if you fancy joining the UK’s best support group for nail technicians of all abilities simply *Click Here* – don’t forget to have your proof of training at the ready 🙂

Okay,  that’s enough from me, it’s time to grab a cuppa & get comfy so we can Meet The Tech…

.

Name:

Clare Kirk
.
Age:  

Ekkk 37 lol
.
Are you mobile, home working or salon based?

I’m self-employed in a salon 5 days a week.

.
What training have you undertaken or are intending to take?

I did my HNC in beauty, which included manicure and pedicure. Then I studied sculptured acrylics, acrylics and gel nails with essential nails, then CND gel polish
.
What nail brands do you enjoy using & why?

I use Naio products for all my acrylic and prep, Bluesky and Missu gel polish. I’ve used many products over they years and find these have the best range or colours and last the longest. I’m an ambassador for All That Sparkles glitters and I always rely on their high quality too
.
How long have you been involved in the industry?

I’ve been qualified since 2003 but didn’t really do much as I had a very successful career in fitness which was brought to an abrupt end due to a very badly torn calve muscle. I always knew I’d have other qualifications to fall back on if this was the case
.
Do you offer any other services other than nails?
Yes, waxing, tinting and lash extensions
.
Where do you get ideas for upcoming nail designs?

Usually the internet, or on pages like this (Nail Tech Chat & Support UK), which is awesome BTW!
.
What is your most memorable or favourite set?
I’ve a signature set which was actually a complete fluke as client came in for nude nails and loved all the sparkles so I waved my magic wand

17393092_10156011749194899_346639092_n
.
What has been your least favourite set and why?
These were for a Zumbathon I taught about 7 years ago, looking back I just cringe but at the time I loved them, the shape, apex everything is wrong, I won’t even mention my design

17440132_10156011760264899_468312589_n
.
Are there any nail pro’s that inspire you?
Yes, Kirsty meiken, Gemma lambert, Tony ly, Kim Tu
.
How do you deal with difficult clients?

To be honest I always try to give my best service possible and if I’ve a client that isn’t happy I always offer to correct work for them. But I find with these clients I always allow more time to consult with them before continuing treatment
.
How do you keep yourself motivated during quiet times or tough days?

This is where I get my art head on and create some of my best work, if you want business you need to up you game and be magical

.
What do you find is the most challenging thing about being a nail tech?

Concentration!!! People always say “you only paint nails” but it’s so much more than that. You need to have a rapport with your clients, and be able to communicate with them
.
How do you cope with business competition?

I keep my head down and work really hard using the best products I can buy so my business speaks for itself.

.
Are there any aspects of your skills you’d like improve on?
Yes, I’d love to learn one stroke nail art, it’s so pretty. I recently won the newbie category for 3D nail art on 3D fantastics fb page, which I aim to now compete in against some very talented people in the badass category too.

17440304_10156011761339899_2037278182_n
.
What current trends are your clients loving?

 Definitely unicorn nails, and now with the release of beauty and the beast I think these will be a big hit too
.
What are your interests outside of nails?

I still go to gym 6 days a week and I’m still very eager to step on a bodybuilding stage
.
What advice would you give to others thinking about starting off in the nail industry?
Go for it!! It’s not going to be easy but with all the right tools and amazing groups you’ll get there, be patient and trust in the process
.
What social media links can we find you on?
IG: @spellboundnailsandbeauty
FB: Spellbound nails and beauty
SC: Spellbound01
Twitter: @nailsspellboun1

A huge thanks to Claire for taking part in our very first Meet The Tech Monday… be sure to pop by her social media pages to check out her fantastic work or why not take a moment to say a quick howdy in the comments below. As always, thanks for stopping by 🙂

Cheerio Chums…

Karen signature

NAIL TECH CHAT & SUPPORT UK BANNER AD

6 thoughts on “Meet The Tech Monday featuring Clare Kirk…

Leave a comment