Behind The Blog… featuring Becca from Beck In A Blog

Beck In A Blog

Hey Beauty Buddies,

I take it you’ve all had an eggcellent Easter?! *shameful pun… sigh*

Well it’s been a pretty awesome one in the Rees household, which mainly consisted of curling up watching family movies, eating copious amounts of chocolate and basking in the spring sunshine yesterday. Where did that bout of gorgeous feel-good weather come from?!

Anyway, today I’m back with yet another fun filled Behind The Blog… as always, if you’re new to Confetti & Curves (friendly wave) & not entirely sure what this virtual shenanigans is all about then *click here* to bring yourself up to speed – you may even find yourself getting involved. Why the heck not?!

So this morning I have one of the loveliest little digital diva’s around, it’s the gorgeous Becca from BeckInABlog! If you haven’t had the virtual delight of gracing her blog with a visit, then I urge you to get yourself over there pretty nifty. This beauty obsessed gal has a blog awash with goodies that makes my vanity table look like a barren and desolate landscape. Of course she’s also incredibly charming, witty & enjoys a good chatter every now & again.

However before you set sail for BeckInABlog, be sure to switch on the kettle, put your feet up and enjoy a few moments getting to know the girl Behind The Blog…

Becca

In only 5 words describe what readers can expect from your blog:

Beauty. Reviews. Lifestyle. Support. Fun!

What inspired you to start blogging?

It was just something I’d always wanted to do – I’d always read blogs but it was sort of at a time when blogging (more so vlogging) was becoming really big. I just love chatting about beauty and things that I enjoy, and I wanted a space that I could share that and connect with like-minded people, and when I left uni I had a lot of spare time on my hands!

Tell us about your blog name… what made you decide on it?

My tumblr username used to be beckinabox – not entirely sure why but it sort of has a ring to it, I guess! When I started my blog I just sort of took it with me and edited it to ‘Beck In A Blog’. I enjoy blogs that are quite personal and I think it’s nice to get to know the person behind the blog, and that’s what I want to portray through my blog!

Do you ever suffer from Blogger’s Block & if so how do you overcome it?

Yep. Sometimes I’ll have endless ideas and write a million posts in a weekend, and want to spread it out over days but i’ll get so excited and so be posting every single day. Then I’ll get that ‘bloggers block’ and maybe not have another post for a week. But really if I can’t think of something to write about then I won’t write anything. I don’t want to post sub-standard content, and only post something I would like to read myself. Another thing to do is have a look at other blogs – get ideas that will inspire you to create content. Maybe a makeup look, a review, etc, or go to social media and find out what your followers would like to see – give them a few suggestions and see which idea they like best!

 .

What’s your favourite post to date? 

My most popular post to date is my Rimmel Wake Me Up foundation and concealer review which consistently gets the most amount of views – no matter how long ago I posted it!

https://beckinablog.wordpress.com/2014/09/23/a-beauty-review-rimmel-wake-me-up-foundation-and-concealer/

But personally I think I’m most proud of is my Sponge Cake recipe. For me it was sharing another passion of mine, and I tried really hard to get the pictures together and make it sort of recipe book-esque. I’d like to do more baking posts in the future if anyone is interested?!

https://beckinablog.wordpress.com/2015/01/21/simple-chocolate-buttercream-sponge-cake/

 .

Describe your everyday clothes style:

Black. Yep! I’m one of those people that wears a lot of black. But in general I’m a girl who will always be wearing a dress or skirt, I’d wear heels all the time if I could, and I like the feeling of being well-presented. I love to feel feminine, but at the same time love that classic style – and black never goes out of style!

 .

What are your current top 3 beauty items?

Currently I’ll go with my Zoeva Rose Gold Complete Eye brush set (cheating slightly there!), my MAC lipstick in the shade Mehr, and the Maybelline Color Tattoo in Permanent Taupe which I use for my eyebrows!

 .

How do you like to relax & unwind after a stressful day?

Have a super hot bubble bath and just lay and read for as long as possible, then cover my body in various lotions, creams and products – there’s nothing like super girly pamper time!

 .

Describe your ideal Saturday night:

Home alone with the boyfriend, comfies on, a film we can both agree on, Chinese take out, a box of chocolates, and a couple of bevs! Im such a crazy party animal!

 .

What do you do to relax?

Generally I like to stay in bed as long as possible, and catch up on YouTube and blog reading, or read a good book.

 .

Everyone has their bad habits, what’s yours?

Peeling off my nail varnish! I know it’s so bad for your nails but I just can’t help it. When I’m bored I will literally end up with bare nails.

 .

What’s your most cherished childhood memory?

So many! But one particular one was our holiday to Portugal, we had a villa with our own pool, and it was a 5 minute walk to the town, and there was this pub that did the best hot chocolates which was next door to a crepe and ice cream parlour! And the weather was just perfect! What more could childhood Becca want?!

What was your favourite school subject?

Drama. I was a theatre kid, and started dancing at the age of 4. Aside from drama I actually loved science and did quite well at it get two As in my GCSEs. I wanted to do chemistry at A Level but it wouldnt fit in with my timetable and so I chose my Performing Arts over chemistry. Looking back I sort of wish Id gone down the route of astronomy or astrophysics.

 .

What’s your dream job?

I have no idea – I literally haven’t a clue what I want to do. I’ve sort of always been that person that’s a bit of a jack of all trades – not especially amazing and any one thing, just generally decent at most things (aside from maths, numbers just don’t work with me!). I also can’t make decisions, so sometimes I just wish someone would come up to me and be like ‘you’re going to be a…*fill in the blank*. Maybe one day I’ll find something.

 .

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I still haven’t quite gotten used to the concept that I’m in my twenties now, and to think in 5 years time I’ll be 27 is way too scary. Ideally I’d like to think I’d be married by then (if we’re still together i’ll have been with my boyfriend almost 9 years), having travelled a bit in the mean time.

 .

What top 5 things are on your bucket list?

Visit the States and go back to Australia, find a job I love, learn to play my guitar, learn sign language, and get a tattoo.

 .

What’s your biggest achievement to date?

Probably getting my degree. I almost dropped out after my first term and whilst I probably wont do anything within my field of study, I’m just proud I made it through, proved to myself I could do it, and I wouldn’t change a thing!

 .

Who inspires you?

My boyfriend. I tend to go with the flow and don’t really put much into action whilst still worrying about the future, whilst he’s very logical and straight-thinking and just get stuff done! He balances me out and we work so well together.

Do you have a favourite inspirational quote?

Ive always loved this too shall pass, it may seem a little cliche and over-used now but to me it was something I always thought about through moments of anxiety and I guess its kind of calming!

 .

What top tips would you give to someone who is thinking of starting their own blog?

Post about what you would like to read about. Enthusiasm does come across and I think people can tell if you’re just posting because you think it’ll make a post that’ll get likes. Keep consistent (something I’m no good at!), and be pro-active in finding other blogs and commenting and liking. If you make people aware of your blog they’re likely to check it out and maybe even follow!

QUICK FIRE QUESTIONS:

 

Tea or Coffee = Tea!

 

Coke or Pepsi = Coke.

 

Messy mayhem or Super Organised = Super organised.

 

Cute kitten or Playful puppy = Cute kitten.

 

Night In or Night Out = Night in.

 

Heels or Flats = Heels.

 

Lip Stick or Lip Gloss = Lip stick.

 

Rock Chick or Pop Princess = Pop princess.

 

Paperback or E-book = Paperback.

pink heart

Contact Becca

Blog: beckinablog.wordpress.com

Facebook : facebook.com/beckinablog

Twitter: twitter.com/beckinablog

Instagram: instgram.com/smecsmarson

Don’t forget: If you would like your blog to feature on Behind The Blog then do get in touch via our contact page by clicking *here*, I’d love to hear from you!

Thanks so much for reading and of course do say hi in the comments below… we adore a good chatter here on Confetti & Curves 🙂

Karen signature

61 thoughts on “Behind The Blog… featuring Becca from Beck In A Blog

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year & Some Very Awesome Bloggers… | Confetti and Curves

Leave a comment